Areas of Operation

Regions East Africa DR Congo Horn of Africa Sudan and South Sudan

RVI areas of operation in Eastern and Central Africa: click on map for description of projects in specific subregion

The Institute’s geographical area of operation covers four subregions of Eastern and Central Africa: the Sudans, the Horn of Africa, East Africa and the Great Lakes. There are active RVI programmes in South Sudan, Somalia, Somaliland, Kenya, Uganda and the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC).

Sudan and South Sudan

The RVI has worked in the Sudans continuously since 2001. The Institute’s first research project was an eighteen-month investigation of abduction and enslavement in South Sudan during... MORE >

Horn of Africa

The Horn of Africa region comprises the physical and political geography of Africa’s easternmost projection: the peninsula between the Gulf of Aden and the Indian Ocean. In the RVI’s... MORE >

East Africa

Since 2007 RVI programmes in East Africa have been managed from the Institute’s regional office in Nairobi, Kenya. In 2012, the Institute established the Rift Valley Forum for Research,... MORE >

Great Lakes

Africa’s Great Lakes region encompasses Rwanda, Burundi, the eastern provinces of the Democratic Republic of the Congo, and parts of western Uganda. In 2010 the Institute held its first... MORE >